by Katie Marie

Sisters. No relationship like it. Relative by genetics, but bonded by a special love. There are different flavors to each sister relationship depending on age difference, different personalities, different appearances, different likes and dislikes but that just makes it all the more tasty!

My only sister, Jenny is 7 years older than I. She was my second mama from the day I was born. She was present at my birth and was the first to clothe me. I treasure the picture we have in our family album of that moment. She was looking down at me with big sister care, her expression showing she was very serious about her new responsibility. Her baby sister.

I sit here thinking of all the fun times and all the things we did together and am at a loss of how to sum it up. Oh the stories I could tell! I don’t consider myself an overly talented writer but I’ll just put down a few of my favorite snippets of our sisterly times and dedicate it to her!

We shared a room for over ten years  and I have so many fond memories of us whispering sisterly whispers before falling asleep many a night. Our one continuing dispute was that she liked to stay up late and sleep late and I liked to sleep early and rise early! I liked to clean our room in the morning and she liked to clean at night…  maybe that was why our room was so disorganized!  But then again, we did have a clean room at least once a year! We’d get into our Christmas decorating mode and would massively clean and decorate with great enthusiasm! We had a very festive room that time of year!

 One winter after we moved out into the country and were remodeling our house, Jenny and I camped out up in the attic. We had our beds and everything up there. Fall was perfect for sleeping up there but when winter came we kicked into survival mode! There was no insulation up there and we’d wake up to look at the ceiling to find that there was intriguing frost patterns all above us. We had tons of blankets and would sleep with stocking hats on!

We had a wood-stove downstairs and we’d heat up rocks to take to bed with us, we’d grab our hot rocks and dash up the stairs slide them in our sheets and then leap into bed before we lost the nerve to slide in between those ice cold sheets! Once we got in it was quite cozy. Mom would bundle up and come and pray with us and “tuck us in”. In the morning we’d  lay there so nice and warm and work up the courage to get out into the frigid air surrounding us. Upon gathering sufficient courage we’d jump out of bed, grab our clothes and scurry downstairs and dress by the stove! We had a blast! We still enjoy reminiscing about those days! We were the healthiest we had ever been that winter. Must have been all that fresh air.

Then there was the time she let me drive her car for the very first time. Not just the first time to drive her car but for me to drive a vehicle in general! She trusted me and got a kick out of teaching me and enjoyed my ear to ear grin.

We had goofy minutes together and we could pick on each other without either being offended.

She taught me how to do a cartwheel. She taught me how to braid hair. All those little things she took time to teach me. She even taught me how to write my name at age two! She didn’t heed Mom’s doubts and proceeded to persevere!

As we both got older we began to even out. It was no longer a little sister-big sister relationship, just sisters. She got married 7 years ago and now has two little boys but we are just as close now if not closer than when she was still at home!

jennys_wedding-1.jpg

We call each other and when one picks up the line we always use is ” Hi! Is this my favorite sister?” to which we reply “Why yes! Is this my favorite sister?” It never gets old and always produces a laugh because no matter what she will be my favorite sister and vice versa not just because we are the only ones we have!

She has always looked out for me and always will. I’ll always be her “Buttmunch!” (that was her endearing pet name for me, I have no idea where it came from but it was special!)

I thank God that he blessed me with my dear sister Jenny!

sisters_2-1.jpg

