by Martha Stoltzfus

dsc03416.jpg

Your eyes never opened to behold the glorious splendor of a sunrise, or the marvelous beauty of a sunset.  You never smelled the freshness of Spring, the fragrance of a rose, or the crispness of Autumn.  You never tasted the sweetness of an apple, or the crunchiness of fresh harvested wheat.  You never heard the relaxing night sounds, the hum of a tractor, or the neighing of a horse.  You never felt the pleasure of sand between your toes, the joy of holding a child’s hand, or walking through the rain.  You were never able to experience the joys of family life, the encouragement of friends, the thrills and challenges of travelling to distant lands, or the excitement of telling a soul who’s never heard about the glory of our Savior.  You never had to go through sickness, pain, or grief.  You never had to endure trying or difficult times.  You never heard a sermon preached, or had to study to preach one yourself.  You never laughed and played with me when I was young, teased me when I got older, or confided in me your deepest secrets.  Though you never experienced this life, and its joys, sorrows, challenges, successes, and failures, you are enjoying the richest pleasures of heaven, and the joy of resting in Jesus’ bosom.

When you were born 22 years ago, it was love at first sight.  As I held your tiny hand in mine, I could not understand why you did not grasp my finger, wiggle your little toes, or open your beautiful eyes.  I did not know why Jesus had taken you to be with Him.  I wanted to see you smile, get your first tooth, take your first step, hear you coo and laugh, and run and play with me.  Now, all I could do is hold your cold body, and wonder.  You were so sweet, innocent, and pure.  And God chose you to be with Him eternally.  Some day, my brother, I am coming too, and we will embrace for the first time.  Jesus will wipe away the tears from our eyes.  Then we will go and worship at His feet as we cast our crowns before Him.  We will sing together, share each other’s secrets, and walk hand in hand together on the streets of gold.  Maybe our mansions will even be next to each other.  My precious brother, though are not here on this earth, your spirit lives on, and I will always remember you, and hold you close to my heart.

I love you!
Martha

Contact: Martha@AuntBarbies.com

