by Stephanie  

As I was journaling last night, I found that I was full of questions, and as I wrote, a few answers, none specific, but some words from God anyway, were given to me. I know we cannot have a formula for “How to Wait on God,” but some specific thoughts and verses were an encouragement to me….

Does every young (or even older) woman wonder whether God has anyone special out there for her, or are there any who have achieved that fragile state of longing trustfully everyday without deeply aching for a husband? Or, on the other hand, are they all resigned in a bitter, sort of “poor-single-me” way? Maybe some young women are wondering how to gain the first, without falling into the second. I know I have been in that place recently.

How does one reach that spiritual place (is it a specific state?) of Mary – “Do unto me whatever You say, for I am Your bond servant.” (Luke 1:38 – wording mine) That’s beyond acceptance, that is an attitude of trusting devotion! How can one learn to trust God that way?

I believe that there must come a point in each one of our lives when we reach out in faith to God. Faith in what? Faith that if we commit our lives to our Heavenly Father, He will bring ‘it’ to pass. ( Ps. 37:5) What is ‘it?’ It is God’s plan – a specific plan “for a future and a hope.” (Jer. 29:11 KJV) This plan may or may not include a spouse. It may or may not bring biological children to us. What this plan does include is peace; for the one who centers her mind on God is kept “in perfect peace.” “The steadfast-of-mind You will keep in perfect peace.” (Isaiah 26:32 NASV) The steadfast young woman may also know contentment, because Paul says, “I have learned to be content in whatever circumstances I am.” (Phil. 4:11 NASV)

Does this mean that until (or unless) one marries it is impossible to have meaningful human relationships? No, look at Mary, the sister of Lazarus. We have no record of her having married, but it seems that she was loved deeply and also loved others deeply as well. In John & Stasie Eldredge’s book Captivating, (I do not endorse this entire book, but there are some helpful and encouraging thoughts in it) women are encouraged to love, to woo, to encourage, and to fight for the hearts and souls of others. This hardly sounds like the life of a lonely hermit. (Captivating, John & Stasie Eldredge)

So, while living in this stage of wondering, waiting, and yielding trustingly to God, follow the direction that Paul gives in Philippians 4. (I don’t have all the verses numbered out for you, I suggest reading the chapter along with this section.)

1.Live harmoniously with fellow believers.
2.Live a life of JOY in the Lord.
3. Maintain a gentle spirit.
4. Do away with worry and anxiety.
5. Give your requests to God in prayer and supplication (which according to some web definitions is also known as petitioning.) link to definitions
. Thanks Google!
6. Let God’s peace rule and dwell – take over and guide – your heart and mind.
7 Keep your mind pure – dwell on positive and clean thoughts.
REMEMBER – Christ is your strength!

Later I began thinking that this is not necessarily limited to people longing for a family of their own. It relates to anyone in any kind of waiting situation. I have learned that God often requires us to be still and allow Him to work silently before we see anything going on. I believe this is why God’s Word says, “Trust in Him at all times; ye people, pour out your hearts before Him: God is a refuge for us. Selah.” (Ps. 62:8)

(Thanks to http://quod.lib.umich.edu/k/kjv/ for the help with the Scripture references and punctuation!)

gse_multipart14173.jpgStephanie, a Christian young woman living in the beautiful mountains of Idaho in the summer and on the East Coast of Florida during the school year. She has a passion for drawing closer to Jesus Christ and reaching out to others through writing, music, and in any other way the Lord would choose.

contact:
www.stephswindowseat.blogspot.com

