02-1.jpgA true friend is one who will pray. That’s one of the biggest blessings that I have in my friends. They pray. There’s nothing that means more to me than when a friend asks how she may pray for me.

 One event that stands out the most to me in regards to the precious blessing of friends who pray was when my sweet Gramma passed away suddenly. Scores of friends showered me with love and told me they were praying for my family and I–many of whom I hardly even knew. Their prayers were an incredible source of peace and comfort for me. If there ever was a time that I sensed the prayers of saints, it was then. I have no idea how I could’ve gone through that difficult time without that support from dear brothers and sisters in Christ.

Most of us don’t have a clue behind the power of prayer. I love the saying, “Satan trembles when he sees the weakest saint upon his knees.” You don’t have to be some powerful spiritual giant to storm the gates of heaven or to come with boldness to the throne of grace. The Lord’s ears are open to the cries of the humble. And when we get on our knees on behalf of someone else, He hears…. and He answers. Don’t doubt the sufficiency of your prayers.

 A true friend isn’t necessarily someone who is close and intimate, but they are always one who will bear the burdens of another to the Father, trusting Him to carry them.

Be a true friend: be a friend who prays.

