Forgiveness: Healing the Hurt

by Rachel Marie

14-1.jpg

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.
And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts.
If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.”
Galatians 5:22-25

I think that we should all be able to agree that as the perfect Friend, Jesus was a perfect example of the fruits of the Spirit alive and active in the life of an individual. “Oh, but Jesus was GOD! I’m human, I can’t….! You don’t know how much these people have hurt me….!”

Well, you’re right about one thing for certain: I’m sure I don’t know how much you’ve been hurt. But you know, Jesus does. And so you’re wrong about another thing: Jesus said that you can….! Don’t take it from me; let’s take a look at Jesus’ own words in John 14:10-16:

“Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of Myself: but the Father that dwelleth in Me, He doeth the works.
Believe Me that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me: or else believe Me for the very works’ sake.
Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto My Father.
And whatsoever ye shall ask in My Name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.
If ye shall ask anything in My Name, I will do it.
If ye love Me, keep My commandments.
And I will pray the Father, and He shall give you another Comforter, that He may abide with you forever.”

What???

:::^Yeah, read it again^.:::

No, Jesus is not expecting too much of us; and He tells us not to assume that we can ask too much of Him.

Do you believe in Him? Do you trust Him?

If the answer is “Yes,” then you know what comes next…. it’s not impossibility!

I believe that the “works” that He did that we shall do also are nothing less than the fruits of the Holy Spirit. And the “greater works” are only a continuation of the fruits of the Holy Spirit made manifest in even more astounding realities, such as the miraculous. No, I don’t believe in miracles – I believe in the God who is able to perform them.

And I can tell you right now that the God of miracles is willing and able and waiting to answer whatever petition you make known unto Him. Perhaps you’ve been pained by someone who you thought you could trust, but failed you, and now you’re bitter and unforgiving. He’s waiting for you – not that other person – to break before Him, and ask forgiveness for your bitterness. After all, becoming bitter is a decision that you made on your own; it’s not the other person’s fault, and it’s certainly not God’s fault that you’re bitter and unforgiving.

At the moment that someone hurt you, you had a choice to make in your heart: to either forgive in Jesus’ Name, because He forgave the great debt that you knew you could never pay; or, to instead fill the hurt inside with self-pity and anger which just boiled down to bitterness and unforgiveness. If yours is the latter, then my dear friend, it’s time to ask God’s forgiveness, and next to go to that one who hurt you and yes, ask their forgiveness after confessing your own bitterness.

Remember: it’s not impossible. Jesus wouldn’t ask anything of us that He knew we couldn’t do.

Forgiveness isn’t an easy step. It doesn’t end with the wave of a hand. Forgiving is a life-long endeavor.

Real forgiveness doesn’t mean you must allow yourself to trust the one who hurt you in the same manner that you may have before. Forgiveness means that while returning good for the evil that’s been done to you, you make yourself vulnerable again – you’re willing to be hurt again, for the sake of the other person.

I’m not saying we ought to let ourselves be run all over. No, not at all. All I’m saying is that forgiveness is an attitude that says: “I’m going to love like I’ve never been hurt, even if it means that I might be ‘hurt’ again.”

The folks I’ve known who have built brick blockades around their hearts so as to be as resistant to all hurts and offenses from others as possible, are some of the least Christ-like people I’ve ever known. Why? The answer is plain as day: they aren’t anywhere close to following Christ’s example!

img_0009.jpgRachel Marie is a sweet young lady who loves the Lord with all her heart. She is keenly interested in the study of biblical womanhood and authored a well-noted article, Just a Girl Through & Through. Along with her gift of writing, her hobbies also include photography, flowers, sewing and a host of other avenues she uses to vent her creativity. Her heart beat is missions with a particular love for China.

Contact:
lajiemarie@gmail.com
www.lajiemarie.blogspot.com  

